Lakers Sign Matt Snyder

The London Lakers are pleased to announce the signing of Michigan defenseman Matthew Snyder.

Matthew Snyder
Matthew Snyder

Snyder, a six-foot-one Macomb, Michigan product, played Junior A last season in the Midwest Junior Hockey League for the Motor City Monarchs.

The London Lakers selected Snyder in the 5th round, 165th overall in this year’s GMHL Draft.

“We targeted Matt because he’s a young, physical defenseman with huge potential,” said Lakers’ Director of Player Personnel and Scouting Ian Kennedy.

“Excited to develop, coach, and win with this kid,” added London head coach Jeff Zehr of the signing.  “He comes from a great family, who has instilled work ethic, determination, and dedication on and off the ice. Another piece to our puzzle.”

Last year with Motor City, Snyder recorded 8 assists and 46 penalty minutes in 33 games. Coming from the NAPHL’s Detroit Falcons program, Snyder, who had interest from other Canadian Junior teams, says he is excited to join the London Lakers.

“I wish to thank the London Lakers for this opportunity,” says Snyder. “At my young age playing my second year at Juniors, I believe this will bring me to where I want to be in my game. Thanks to Jeff Zehr and the Lakers group for drafting me and my signing with the team.”

The London Lakers will host their main camp August 15-16 at London Sports Park, where the team’s signed players will join a group of players contending for roster positions.

Players interested in trying out for the Lakers should contact Ian Kennedy at ian@londonlakersjrahockey.ca. As well, the London Lakers are looking for billet families. If your family is interested in hosting a London Lakers player, please contact Hayden Maass at hayden@londonlakersjrahockey.ca.

